Ben McCallum's Blog

Dissecting ASP.NET MVC3, CSS3, HTML5, jQuery and a whole lot of other things ending with numbers…

Why blog?

This is only my second ever blog post, and after answering for myself the same question, I thought it would be interesting to discuss “why people blog?” There has to be a motivation for people to blog and here are some of my thoughts on why people do it.

People blog for several different reasons:

  • Communicate to their friends
  • Share thoughts and ideas
  • Share academic knowledge
  • Record things for later reference
  • Gain a reputation, followers and be recognised by the blogging community
  • Advertise themselves/company
  • Help others with common problems
  • Complain or critically review something.

My reason for blogging is: one, because it is an assessment item but also to share information to others interested about what I am learning in the field of Enterprise 2.0. This blog will also provide somewhat of a future reference for my findings and research which I can revisit in the future.

Although I am quite new to blogging and have not yet mastered the skills of attracting readers, experienced “bloggers” can gain huge fan bases by using technology to spread the word and make accessing their blogs easier for others. This can include (but is not limited to) things such as RSS feeds, trackbacks and pingbacks, linking to external sources, tagging and categorising yours posts, and so forth. It is also a good idea to include links to the other social networking sites that you operate so that people can follow you further.

So far in my browsing I have found the following interesting Enterprise/Web 2.0 blogs:

Andrew McAfee’s Blog @ http://www.andrewmcafee.org/
Sacha Chua’s Blog @ http://www.sachachua.com/wp/
Tim O’Reilly’s Website/Blog @ http://timoreilly.com/

Check them out if you are interested in checking out some blogs that discuss Enterprise 2.0 (first coined by Andrew McAfee) and Web 2.0 (first named by Tim O’Reilly).

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Why blog?

  1. I’m glad you like my blog! Here are some of the Enterprise 2.0 blogs I read: http://livinganawesomelife.com/wp/2008/12/24/my-enterprise-20-blogroll/. I’m looking forward to learning from you, too!

  2. Hi Ben,

    Great to see that you are getting comments

    ~ Jason

Leave a Reply

